IN MEMORY OF THOSE WHO HAVE FALLEN IN SERVICE TO OUR COUNTRY …LIKE MY GREAT UNCLE WOODROW.

This Memorial Day I will honor a man I never new.  My great-uncle, Woodrow Rainey.  He was the spitting image of his older sister, my beloved grandmother, and is my younger bother, Woody’s, namesake.  He was killed by a Kamikaze on March 26, 1945, at age 29, and was buried at sea.

NBD94503262

KIMBERLY
Monday, March 26, 1945
Kamikaze Attack near Kerama Retto
Departing San Pedro Bay March 21, for radar picket duty off the Ryukyus, Kimberly was attacked March 26 by two Vals. … Despite accurate antiaircraft fire and numerous hits, one enemy plane, trailing fire and smoke, crashed into the aft gun mounts killing 4 men and wounding 57. … Kimberly cleared the area April 1 for repairs at Mare Island.

WoodrowLyleRaineyobit

If he was anything like his father (my great-grandfather), whom we called “Dad Rainey”, the world lost a fine young man on March 26, 1945.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you great-uncle, Woodrow. Rest in peace!

-bruce

Mulkey Law Firm salutes all those who have fallen in service to our country.